46 political parties registered for Indonesia's 2014 election

The General Election Commission (KPU) said on Friday that it had closed registrations for political parties wishing to contest the upcoming 2014 general election and announced the official list of 46 registered parties.

The commission opened registration on Aug. 10 and closed it on Sept. 7. Commissioner Hadar Nafis Gumay said no more political parties were allowed to register with the poll body.

"There are 46 political parties that have registered to participate in the 2014 general election," Hadar said, as quoted by tribunnews.com.

The parties include new political parties the Independent Peoples Union Party (SRI) and the National Democratis Party (Nasdem).

After closing the registration, Hadar said, the commission now would check whether or not the 46 parties had completed the 17 administrative documents requested by the commission. The verification process, he said, would run until Sept. 29.

"Then, we will later announce which parties completed the administrative documents," he said.

After the administrative requirements were verified as complete, Hadar said, the commission would conduct a factual verification process, slated to wrap up by Jan. 6, he said. Political parties would be officially recognized as 2014 national election participants only after passing the factual verification process.

In 2009, the poll body cleared 34 political parties to participate in the national general election after verification of their registration documents.

Become a fan on Facebook