GE 2011: Election battleground laid out

SINGAPORE - The slate of candidates for the upcoming General Election on May 7 was announced between 12.30pm and about 2.00pm today, after several objections from contesting parties were looked into.

Here are the highlights from some anticipated hotspots:

Potong Pasir SMC

People's Action Party's (PAP) Sitoh Yih Pin stepped forward again to contest the Potong Pasir SMC. He is challenging Singapore People's Party's candidate Mrs Lina Chiam, whose party has held onto the single seat constituency for the last 27 years, represented by Chiam See Tong, the longest-serving opposition MP. Mr Chiam will contest in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC in the upcoming polls.

Marine Parade GRC

PAP's team led by Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong will be challenged by a team from the National Solidarity Party (NSP). During their thank you speech, they called on residents to "vote for the people they can trust".

When it was the NSP team's turn to speak, its youngest candidate Nicole Seah received the audience's rapt attention as she spoke on "holding the incumbent Government accountable for its policies and engaging the people".

Holland-Bukit Timah GRC

Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) objected to PAP candidate Sim Ann's employment status during their thank-you speech.

Dr Vincent Wijeysingha called on the Elections Department to investigate what he called an 'anomaly' in the next one hour, and said that no reason was given for rejecting their objection.

Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC to be contested by Singapore People's Party

The PAP team led by Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng will run against the Singapore People's Party (SPP) team led by Chiam See Tong.

Aljunied GRC will see fight between PAP and WP

Workers' Party will be challenging the PAP for Aljunied GRC.

The incumbent PAP team, led by Foreign Minister George Yeo, Ms Lim Hwee Hua, Mr Zainal Abidin Rasheed, Ms Cynthia Phua and Mr Ong Yu Kung, will face off Workers' Party 'A' team comprising party chief Low Thia Khiang, chairperson Sylvia Lim, Mr Chen Show Mao, Mr Muhd Faisal Abdul Manap and Mr Pritam Singh.

Sengkang West SMC, Ang Mo Kio GRC contested 

It will be a challenge between PAP's Lam Pin Min and Workers' Party Koh Choong Yong for Sengkang West SMC.

Dr Lam made his thank you speech first and asked residents to vote for him, amidst cheers and jeers from the supporters of the two political parties gathered at the nomination centre.

Mr Koh was next to speak, and said this was the first step to a First World parliament, as his supporters chanted "Workers' Party!"

Ang Mo Kio GRC

The Returning Officer next announced that Ang Mo Kio GRC will be contested by PAP and Reform Party (RP).

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong spoke to his supporters in three languages and thanked them.

The PAP team for Ang Mo Kio GRC is Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Inderjit Singh, Seng Han Thong, Yeo Guat Kwang, Intan Azura Mokhtar and Ang Hin Kee.

The RP team comprises Alex Tan, Arthero Lim Tung Hee, Vigneswari Ramachandran, Lim Zi Rui, Mansor Rahman and Osman Sulaiman.

Walkover in Tanjong Pagar GRC

The PAP returned uncontested once again in Tanjong Pagar GRC.

The team comprises Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, Indranee Rajah, Lily Tirtasana Neo, Chan Chun Sing and Chia Shi Lu.

In his victory speech, MM Lee said that any attempt to contest the PAP was a 'feeble' one, and that challengers should know the deadline to submit nomination papers was 12pm. An opposition team had submitted their forms 35 seconds after the deadline. As a result, they could not contest in Tanjong Pagar GRC.

Mr Lee also added that he will continue to serve Tanjong Pagar for the next five years.

Elections Dept responds to media queries

In response to queries from the press regarding the submission of Nomination papers for Tanjong Pagar GRC, its spokeperson said through a statement released earlier this evening: "Section 29 of the Parliamentary Elections Act states that every nomination paper and the GRC certificates shall be delivered to the Returning Officer in duplicate and in person, by the person or persons seeking nomination accompanied by his or their proposer, seconder and at least 4 assentors between 11am and 12 noon (both times inclusive) on Nomination Day. The Act also says that if not so delivered, the papers shall be rejected.

"A group of aspiring candidates turned up at the Nomination Centre at Singapore Chinese Girls’ School but they did not deliver their nomination papers with the necessary documentation on time."