PM Lee announces new Cabinet today

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced the line-up of his new Cabinet just today.

In addition to his role as Minister for Finance, Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam will be promoted to Deputy Prime Minister (DPM) with effect from 21 May 2011. He will also take on on a new portfolio as the Minister for Manpower, and will be heading the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

Retirements and promotions

Mr Teo Chee Hean, who has also been appointed DPM, will be Coordinating Minister for National Security and Minister for Home Affairs as well. He takes over the portfolio of Home Affairs from Mr Wong Kan Seng, who will be retiring.

Mr Mah Bow Tan and Mr Raymond Lim, who were Ministers for for National Development and Transport respectively will also be retiring from the Cabinet.

Taking over from them are Mr Khaw Boon Wan, who will be the new Minister for National Development. He was previously minister for Health. Taking over the Health portfolio is Mr Gan Kim Yong, who will also continue in his role for Minister-in-charge of Ageing Issues. He will be relinquishing his role of Manpower Minister to Mr Shanmugaratnam.

Taking over the Transport portfolio is Mr Lui Tuck Yew. He was previously Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts. Replacing Mr Lui in his former role is Dr Yaacob Ibrahim, who is also Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs.

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan takes on the appointment as Minister for The Environment and Water Resources, relinquishing his role as Minister for MCYS to MG(NS) Chan.

In addition to his appointment as Law Minister, Mr K Shanmugam will also be appointed as Minister for Foreign Affairs. Mr Lui Tuck Yew will be the Second Minister for Foreign Affairs.

A full promotion is in store for Mr S Iswaran, who was previously Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry, and Ministry of Education. He will become a Minister without portfolio in the Prime Minister's Office, in addition to being the Second Minister for Home Affairs and Second Minister for Trade & Industry.

Other office-holders to be promoted include Mr Teo Ser Luck. He will be Minister of State for Trade and Industry. He was previously Parliamentary Secretary for MCYS.

1 2 3 4