NUS awards 9 for significant contributions to education

SINGAPORE - The National University of Singapore (NUS) today celebrated the achievements of nine exceptional educators, researchers and professionals and presented them with the NUS University Awards.

The annual Awards recognise individuals for excellence in education, research and service to the University, to Singapore and the global community. The accolades were given out in four categories, namely, the Outstanding Service Award, Outstanding Educator Award, Outstanding Researcher Award and Young Researcher Award.

This year, Mr Goh Yew Lin, Chairman, Governing Board of the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music at NUS, was conferred the Outstanding Service Award, for the exceptional contributions towards the development of the University, Singapore and the region.

NUS also recognised eight other outstanding educators and researchers from the School of Computing, School of Design and Environment, Faculty of Engineering, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, Faculty of Science and University Scholars Programme. Each award winner was presented with a trophy.

Said NUS President Professor Tan Chorh Chuan : “The University Awards honour and recognise members in our community who stand out for their passion, boldness and achievements. Their outstanding contributions towards transformative education, high-impact research and dedicated service are pivotal in creating value for our country and society, and in advancing NUS’ standing as a prominent thought-leader. On behalf of the NUS community, I would like to extend my heartiest congratulations to our award recipients this year.”

Other award winners:

Outstanding Educator Award

Associate Professor Hooi Shing Chuan
Department of Physiology, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine

Dr Lo Mun Hou
University Scholars Programme

Associate Professor Joseph Ooi Thian Leong
Department of Real Estate, School of Design and Environment

Outstanding Researcher Award

ProfessorBarry Halliwell
Department of Biochemistry, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine

Professor Loh Kian Ping
Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science Young Researcher Award

Young Researcher Award

Dr Rahul Jain
Department of Computer Science, School of Computing and Centre for Quantum Technologies

Dr Wu Jishan
Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science

Dr Yan Shuicheng
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering

Become a fan on Facebook