What now?


Who will replace Mr Michael Palmer at Punggol East constituency?

Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean said he has asked Mr Teo Ser Luck, Minister of State for Trade and Industry and North East District Mayor, to oversee Punggol East constituency, which is a single-seat constituency.

Mr Zainal Sapari will be appointed as the new chairman of Pasir Ris-Punggol Town Council.

Who will replace Mr Palmer as Speaker?

Deputy Speaker Charles Chong, who is the Acting Speaker, will continue in this role.

The Prime Minister will nominate a new Speaker for Parliament's consideration when it next meets.

Will there be a by-election for Punggol East SMC?

In a post on his Facebook page on Wednesday evening, PM Lee Hsien Loong said the Constitution does not require him to call a by-election within any fixed time frame.

He said: "I will carefully consider whether to call a by-election in Punggol East and, if so, when. I assure Singaporeans that I will make my decision based on what is best for the constituents of Punggol East and the country."

When former Hougang MP Yaw Shin Leong was expelled by the Workers' Party (WP) and vacated his seat in February, Hougang resident Vellama Marie Muthu filed an application with the High Court for a mandatory order for PM Lee to call a by-election within three months or within a "reasonable time" deemed by the court.

She withdrew the application after PM Lee called for a by-election to be held on May 26. WP's Png Eng Huat won the seat against the People's Action Party's Desmond Choo.

Get The New Paper for more stories.

Michael Palmer's political career
Click on thumbnail to view (Photos: SPH, Internet)
Become a fan on Facebook