9 NMPs appointed out of 47 candidates

(Above from L-R: Mr Teo Siong Seng, Asst. Prof. Eugene Tan Kheng Boon, Ms Janice Koh Yu-Mei and Ms Mary Liew Kiah Eng)

Nine persons have been selected by the Special Select Committee to fill the positions of Nominated Members of Parliament (NMPs).

A total of 50 applications were received by the committee on Dec 8, 2011 when the applications closed.

The Committee had invited the general public and functional groups to submit names of persons for its consideration for the appointment.

Apart from three forms that were invalid, all 47 eligible candidates were considered suitable candidates for appointment as NMPs.

The final nine who were picked are:

(1) Mdm Faizah bte Haji Ahmad Jamal (Civic and People Sector)

(2) Mr Nicholas Fang Kuo Wei (individual application)

(3) Ms Janice Koh Yu-Mei (Media, Arts and Sports Organisations)

(4) Mr Laurence Lien Tsung Chern (Social Service Organisations)

(5) Ms Mary Liew Kiah Eng (Labour Movement)

(6) Mr Ramasamy Dhinakaran (Professions)

(7) Asst. Prof. Eugene Tan Kheng Boon (Tertiary Education Institutions)

(8) Ms Carrie Tan Su Shan (Business and Industry)

(9) Mr Teo Siong Seng (Business and Industry)

Speaker of Parliament and the Chairman of the Committee, Michael Palmer, said: "The Committee looked for eligible candidates who had distinguished themselves through public service or in their respective fields.

"We wanted NMPs who could bring their specialised knowledge and experience to add to the depth and breadth of the debates in Parliament.

"This will help Singapore as we address together key challenges ahead."

Dr Ng Eng Hen, Leader of the House and a member of the Committee, said: "The Committee had many high quality candidates from which to choose nine NMPs.

"But our final slate was to ensure the widest representation possible, so that the varied interests and needs of different groups of Singaporeans would be heard in Parliament."

Former national fencer and Fencing Singapore president Nicholas Fang was the only NMP who applied as an individual.

From the newly-introduced civic and people sector is polytechnic lecturer Mdm Faizah Jamal, 51, who was put forward by the Nature Society (Singapore).

Representing the social services sector will be Laurence Lien, 41, chief executive officer of the National Volunteer & Philanthropy Centre and the Community Foundation of Singapore.

Representing the business and industry sector DBS Bank group head of wealth management Tan Su Shan, 44, and Mr Teo Siong Seng, 57, president of the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Mr Teo is the only second-term NMP.

The remaining four NMPs are actress Janice Koh, 38, unionist Mary Liew, 49, managing director of Jay Gee Melwani Group Ramasamy Dhinakaran, 60, and law professor Eugene Tan, 41.

The nine NMPs will take their oaths at the next sitting of Parliament on Feb 14.

1 2