Sembawang-Nee Soon Town Council to split

Two rental blocks, Block 511 and 512, at Wellington Circle in Sembawang.

SINGAPORE - The Sembawang-Nee Soon Town Council will be splitting into two separate entities from April 1.

A statement made by the council on Tuesday attributed the split to the "rapid expansion" of both estates in the past two years, noting that they will expand more in coming years.

"It is therefore timely to have two separate town councils to manage the HDB estates more efficiently," it said.

Both Sembawang and Nee Soon GRCs now have 129,4000 HDB housing units and nearly half a million residents.

The council added that both entities will continue work together on joint tenders to enjoy bulk discounts, and share ideas and practices.

It assured that the split will not disrupt operations, nor its services such as booking of facilities, handling of feedback, and payment of service and conservancy charges.

The split of the town council, which oversees ten wards altogether, means that the recently expanded Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council will be the biggest town council after April 1, overseeing seven wards.

Go to Singapolitics for more stories.

Here is the press release from the Ministry of National Development:

The Ministry of National Development (MND) has issued the following Orders March 12, 2013 to put into effect the formation of Sembawang Town Council and Nee Soon Town Council:

(i) Town Councils (Declaration of Towns) (Amendment No. 2) Order 2013; and

(ii) Town Councils (Establishment) (Amendment No. 2) Order 2013.

At the request of the elected Members of Parliament for Sembawang and Nee Soon constituencies, the Town of Sembawang-Nee Soon will be reconstituted as the Town of Sembawang, comprising only the Sembawang constituency, while the new Town of Nee Soon will be formed to comprise Nee Soon constituency.

These changes will take effect on April 1, 2013.

Become a fan on Facebook